Executive Committee

ASAWU is governed by an elected Executive Committee, who serve on a volunteer basis without remuneration (although we are negotiating with university management for our time to be recognised as service to the institution). This committee is elected each year at the Annual General Meeting. Any ASAWU member can stand for election.

Here are the currently serving members, elected in 2016 for service in 2017:

President: Daisy Matlou

Vice-President: Ben Scully

Treasurer: Pervaiz Khan

CommunicationsZen Marie

Grievances: Carl Beaumont

ResearchChris Callaghan


Polo Moji

Anthony Stacey

Danai Mupotsa

Malebakeng Forere

Bekir Genc

Tawanda Zvarivadza

Past Executive Committee Members
2016: David Hornsby (President), Liz Picarra (Vice-President), Liz Brenner (Treasurer), Stacey Sommerdyk (Secretary), Mehita Iqani (Communications), Nosipho Moloto, David Merand, Bekir Genc, Tasneem Joosub, Tawanda Zvarivadza, Pervaiz Khan, Chris Callaghan, Carl Beaumont, David Merand and Colette Gordon.
2015: Raimi Gbadamosi (President), David Hornsby (Vice-President), Fiona Horne (Secretary), Liz Brenner (Treasurer) Nicky Falkof (Communications), Lesetja Motadi, Charles De Matos, Ala, Liz Picarra, Amy Niang, David Merano, Lindelwa Dalamba, Gillian Eagle, Andreas Lumberer and Carl Beaumont.
2014: Raimi Gbadamosi (President), David Hornsby (Vice-President), Liz Brenner (Treasurer), Fiona Horne (Secretary), Nicky Falkof (Communications), Carl Beaumont, Gillian Eagle, Sarah Mosoetsa, Lesetja Motadi, Amy Niang, Patrick Jaki and David Merand.